Home  |   Sitemap  |   Contact us

Medical College, Pune
Continuing Medical Education
(YouTube channel)

Staff Achievements

One student is selected as the outstanding sportsperson for each year. He is felicitated and awarded with certificate and winner shield in hands of Hon. Secretary in a special function. For the year 2009-10, a special function is to be organized in the month of May 2010.

Honors and Awards:

  • Dr. V.A.Saoji, Principal, was awarded International Fellowship in Medical Education by FAIMER, ECFMC, USA to pursue Masters degree in Medical Education ( MHPE) at university of Illinois at Chicago in August 2006. The fellowship award was USD 50,000.
  • Dr. P.M.Bulakh, Professor in Biochemistry received life time achievement award  at 33rd ACBICON 2006 at AFMC, Pune.
  • Dr. V.R.Sardesai, Professor, Dept of Dermatology was invited as an ‘Observer’ to the Center for Blistering Diseases at Boston, MA, Harvard Medical School, USA
  • Dr. D.B.Wani Professor of Pathology was selected in International CME in Transfusion Medicine at Murten, Switzarland .
  • Dr. Kavita Krishna, Professor, Department of Medicine has been included in the National Advisory Board of Journal of Association of Physicians of India; and Advisory Board of International Journal, Medical Science and Research.
  • Dr. A.R.Joshi Professor and Head, Department of Physiology appointed on the Editorial  board of Internet Journal of Medical Update for the year 2007-2008.
  • Dr. Girija Wagh, Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology was nominated as assistant co-coordinator for National Eclampsia Registry, and was also appointed as secretary of Pune chapter of Uro-gynaecology. She was elected as Clinical Secretary Pune Obstetric and Gynecology society for 2008.
  • On 1st December 2008, felicitation of 6 faculty members of Community Medicine department (Project and programme coordinators) was done by Mr. Suresh Kalmadi President, Indian Olympic Association, for the active participation  in “Environmental Awareness Programme in Schools under CYG.
  • Dr. Jitendra Oswal, Associate Professor in Pediatrics is the member of Reviewer board: Indian Pediatrics- Indexed Journal, Journal of Pediatric Infectious Disease Turkey.

Invitation From Abroad:

Dr. Vivek A. Saoji - Principal:
  1. He was invited for the Directors meeting of FAIMER regional   Institutes at Philadelphia PA, USA. Participated in this international   workshop from 18th to 23rd August 2007.
  2. He was invited as international faculty “FACULTY ADVISOR” for the FAIMER Institute 2007 an international faculty development program at Philadelphia PA, USA from 14th to 20th Oct. 2007.
  3. He was invited by the British Open University, World Federation for Medical Education (WFME) and FAIMER to be a member of International team for developing distance learning modules in Health Sciences for FAIMER and WFME members in the first meeting between 29th April to 2nd May 2009 in United Kingdom.
Dr. (Mrs.) Girija Wagh ,Professor from the Department of Ob-GY
was an invitee in the 57th conference of the German Society of Gynaecology and Obstetrics in Hamburg and to the  Kiel School of Gynaecological Endoscopy from September 10 to October 8, 2008.


  1. Dr Jyoti Sharma, Dept. of Paediatrics Fellowship in Paediatric Nephrology, International Society of Nephrology, Montreal Children’s Hospital, McGill University of  Health Sciences, Montreal , Canada.
  2. Dr. Sada  was trained in critical care in Medicine (ISCCM).
  3. Dr. Sudhir Kothari, Dr. Milind Joshi,Dr. Rajeev Doshi,Dr. Anand Ghiya received Fellowship in Minimal Access Surgery F.M.A.S.The  Exam was held by A.M.A.S.I. in Poona hospital on 30th March, 2008  and Convocation was held on July 5th 2008 at AMASI Annual Conference in Chennai, India.
  4. Dr. Mrunal Ketkar,  Dr Shubha Chandorkar and Aarti Hajarnavis completed the Fellowship in Medical Education conducted by FAIMER- (Foundation for  Advancement in Medical Education &  Research)  in  regional centre  at  CMC - Ludhiana.
  5. Dr Parasnis and Dr. Wagh were conferred FICOG -Fellowship of Indian College of Obstetrics and Gynecology.
  6. Dr. Sudhir Shinde (M.S., FACRSI) was selected for fellowship awarded by t he Association of    Colorectal Surgeons of India. He did his fellowship at  Saint Francis   Hospital at  Hartford, Connecticut USA from 1st to 31st Oct 07.
  7. Dr A. V.Bhave Professor, Orthopedics was awarded:
    • 1. Scholarship- Hokkaido University Sapporo, JAPAN
    • 2. Fellowship - Japan Orthopaedic & Trauma Foundation 2008
  8. Dr. Pradeep P. Sharma received Visiting Fellowship in Colorectal Surgery at St. Francis Hospital Connecticut.  

Patents Generated:

  1. Patent no: 198510:
    • Vertebroplasty Needle assembly - under new IPR laws.
    • Copyright for the procedure: Vertebroplasty using AB needle.
    • Trade mark for this device: AB needle.
    • Selected under 'Inventors of India [2004-2008] by IIM Ahmedabad.
  2. Teaching Stethoscope Innovation in clinical teaching aids -Dr Shahaji Deshmukh,  Professor Surgery  applied for patent- registration number awaited
© 2018 - Bharati Vidyapeeth, Pune. All rights reserved. Developed and maintained by Technology Department, Bharati Vidyapeeth.